My journey to becoming a MOZILLIAN

My journey to becoming a MOZILLIAN

It all started during the beginning of college, when everyone were introduced to different tech clubs of our college and one was told to choose a club without giving them information as to what the clubs goals were and what a club as such.. does… I myself was confused and took almost an entire semester to choose a club. I developed interest towards the Mozillans club, when they held this small competition to design the club’s official logo and the winner was awarded a t-shirt (OFFICIAL MOZILLA MERCHANDISE). I designed a logo and as my luck would have it, I won the competition 😄.

As time went by I became interested in Web Development.. and at the right time, the “Mozillans” came up with an event called “MAKER PARTY” (It’s one of Mozilla’s global campaign to teach the web). This event was all about a tool developed by Mozilla called the “WebMaker” (These tools help a lot to learn the web from existing websites and use those resources to make something cooler 😄 ). The speaker did an amazing job at explaining how the tool works and gave us a hands on experience of it. We even had some quiz rounds where the person who answered got swags 😉

This event made it clear to me that Mozillans was the way to go. This club is led by a “Firefox Student Ambassador” (Apparently such a thing exists and being one is cool :sunglasses:) named Srushtika (Our College Senior). I had met her before, during the First logo competition that was held, so she knew me (Luckily) and I told her how much I was interested to be a part of the club and that I was willing to learn more. She was really friendly and took me in :smiley: . The first session the whole group had, was more of an introductory session where the members of the club were introduced to each other and we also had small fun activities. During my second year in college…. being a part of the club, we were told to publicize the club to the juniors… in order to get in more people. In order to accomplish that, we had arranged an orientation where the entire team took almost an entire week to arrange. In the orientation, each of us were assigned to talk on different products and projects that Mozilla is working on and to introduce to the juniors what “Open Source” meant and what the club does to promote this openness.I was told to talk about “WebMaker” itself and I gave this prezi presentation explaining what it is and what the tools are capable of doing. We even had a quiz session where students were awarded swags like stickers, id tags and tattoos….This orientation was more of an experience of how an event is organised and the success of that orientation didn’t really matter much in the end of the day.

Today we conduct more meetings among club members and have small activities and have a fun time altogether. We also go to events conducted off campus that promote Mozilla’s openness and awesomeness 😄

I’m really grateful to be a part of this club and our “FSA” for giving me the opportunity to be a MOZILLIAN. As a Mozillian I will promote openness, contribute more towards open-source and make this web an amazing place 😄